Math and Science Teachers Recognized for Presidential Award

DFSME recognized seven Delaware mathematics and science teachers at a dinner in Dover as recipients of the Presidential Award for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching (PAEMST).

PAEMST is the highest recognition a K-12 mathematics or science teacher can receive for outstanding teaching in the United States. Awards are given to mathematics and science teachers from each of the 50 states and four U.S. jurisdictions. Each state selects its state finalists, and a national selection committee reviews state finalist applications and selects one awardee in each content area for each state.

As part of the national recognition process, awardees take part in a week-long series of networking and professional development activities in Washington, D.C., and receive $10,000 from the National Science Foundation.


Read more about the PAEMST and Delaware’s finalists